Book Review: Take the Fall by Marquita Valentine

1j
Title: Take the Fall
Author: Marquita Valentine
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: 178 pages
Rating: 4 stars

Synopsis

Fans of Abbi Glines and Katy Evans will adore Take the Fall, the first spinoff novel from Marquita Valentine’s New York Times bestselling Boys of the South series. In this emotional new romance, passions run hot as a rugged, brooding Marine rekindles an old flame.

As a teenager, Seth O’Connor went to jail for a crime he had nothing to do with. He took the fall to protect the girl he loved, but the cruel realities of prison hardened him. After doing his time, Seth shuts her out and enlists in the Marines—until his grandmother’s funeral forces him to come home and face Rowan Simmons once again. The woman she’s become puts all his high-school memories to shame, and Seth wants her more than ever. Can he be honest about why he denied her for so long?

After Seth pushed her away, Rowan swore that no man would ever hurt her again. But the boy who broke her heart has become a sexy Marine, capable of fulfilling her every desire—and now that he’s back in town, old feelings are simmering to a boil. Rowan wants to stay strong, even as her body surrenders to his expert touch. She only hopes that by taking him back, she can finally help heal the wounds that drove them apart.

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

YaYa's Review

I sometimes say I picked up a new author. What I really mean is to me they are new although they’ve written previous books to the one I’m reading. But new to me because it’s the first time I read something from them.

Browsing through NG I came across this cover. Looked pretty enough and after reading the synopsis I said sure. Will it kill me? I was hoping not. I’m misjudged. I do like the sappy romantic stories. Just not all the time. The heroines get to me with all that whining and crying. Talk about wanting to punch someone in the face.

“No one ever stays.”

These words right there, I knew I was in for some sadness and a whole lot of issues. There are some, not enough to drive me bat shit crazy, enough to annoy me just a little. This is your typical young romance. No they are not teenagers throughout the whole book. They were in love at a young age but of course a tragedy separated them and being so young dumb choices were made out of anger.

1g

She waited and waited for me to say something until I drove her to the point of no return.

I felt like what happened needed more of an explanation in order for me to accept Seth and Rowan’s actions. Although her brother was also involved I’ll save him for later because he’s getting his own book. He played his part like the big brother he is. So back to Rowan and Seth this book is angsty. He loved me, hates me, left me behind and vice versa. I had some trouble with Rowan because she couldn’t make up her mind after Seth comes back. Oh and I was furious with Seth while he was away. He blamed Rowan and her brother for what happens to him and I thought it was a dick move. He makes up for it. I promise.
1h

“I’ll keep pumping that sweet pussy while you concentrate on coming. Can you do that for me?”

Yes there are some really hot sexy times scenes. Seth is no longer a boy, but a man still in love with the woman he left behind and is coming for her. No holds barred. He wants Rowan and he’s going to get her. And this is more angst because Rowan now can’t forgive him. She plays the You left me and I don’t need you cards. Don’t get me wrong their banter is very funny at times. She’s a little spitfire. Let’s give thanks to big brother Jase for making his sister a Bad Ass, but I will say I wanted to kill her. Rowan shut up and listen to him. Let him explain himself and stop with your no one stays BS.
1i

“I don’t know what you want from me,” I finally say. He leans back, his dark eyes searching my face. There’s so much tenderness there that I have to look away. “Baby, I want what you can give me.” “What if I can’t give you anything?” “You’ll give me everything,” he whispers. “Because you know I’m what you need.”

Does is have an HEA? Yes. I felt like I needed more of that ending though. It actually can be read as a standalone but I’m going to harass the author because I want more from these two. Seth had plans and I want to live those plans out in another book. Hhmmm, maybe she’s saving it for the next book. Jase’s. I have a feeling if things go good that will be one kick ass book. More angst, yee-hawwww. Can’t wait to read about his douchery acts. Yup, I totally made that word up. Piper, I’m cheering for you. Don’t go easy. Get out your shell and raise some hell woman. Learn something from your BFF.

Yes I recommend this book. Seth is a delicious book BF. Rowan is not a bad heroine when she’s not mixed up all in her head. Looking forward to the next book. Happy Readings!

💋

“Be pissed at me tomorrow,” I remind her.
“Love me tonight,” she relies softly.

– YaYa

*An ARC was received from the publisher via NetGalley for an honest review.

Amazon

Goodreads

ShareShare on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail this to someone

Comments

  1. This sounds interesting. I’ll have to check this out.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com