Release Blitz (Book Review): Pieces of One Part 2 by SVC Ricketts

P2 -TitleP2 Final ECoverP2 - Book Info

Title: Pieces of One, Part 2 (The Dark Life Collection)

Author: SVC Ricketts @SVC_Ricketts

Genre: Suspense/Contemp.Romance

Cover Design: Judi Perkins/Concierge Literary Promotions

Release Date: September 8th, 2015

Rating: 5 stars

add-to-goodreads-buttonP2 - Cover JacketP2 Final Cover - Full WrapP2 - Buy Links5gd2uWMP2 - Synopsis

Book TWO in a three part dark suspense and contemporary romance series. Be warned: IT HAS A CLIFFHANGER ENDING!

** Due to explicit language, violence and sexual scenes, this is recommended for a mature audience, 18+. Read withextreme CAUTION. **


Within the last few weeks I’ve been stalked, almost raped, witnessed a murder, and found out I am working with the FBI. All because of that slutty tramp, Marvy. Mind you, I did have my first

sexual experience with a smoking hot guy, so there’s that…but I still hate her.


That wimpy cry-baby blames me for everything, which is total joke! If it were up to me, I wouldn’t have gone back to the club without a gun. Now I’m stuck with that jerk-off, Bryson, hiding from people who want to see me dead.


I’m supposed to be getting the dirt on Bryson, but truth of the matter is, I think I’m falling for the scumbag. He did kill someone to protect me, but he’s the reason he had to. Sigh. I don’t know what to think about him. He doesn’t know about my secrets. Or maybe he does.

The only man I can trust is Alex. But he doesn’t know where I am

thanks to Bryson. I love them both in ways that are completely different—kind of like my



Wat a friggin’ mess! Dez two are idjits!

Michelle's Review

**NOTE** I was asked and honored to have beta read P2.  I am not going to lie, I was a little hesitant because I really like reading a finished product, but knowing how Ms. Rickett’s brain works, I knew I was going to get a novel with very little edits.  This review is based on my beta reading.  I sincerely doubt there will be any major rewrites, which I confirmed with the author before writing this review.

Pieces 2 picks up right where Pieces 1 left off.  Trista is with Bryson, recovering from her wounds from that sicko Supak.  Bryson thinks Trista is Marvy’s twin (which you already know from book 1).  Trista is staying with Bryson to get the information she needs regarding his dealings with some badasses to the Feds.  In Pieces 1, I was NOT a fan of Bryson because of the situation he put “Marvy” in.

Let’s backpedal for a minute to book 1.  You already know that Trista suffers from Dissociative Identity Disorder or D.I.D.  Trista knew of “Marvy” then learns there’s another alter, “Valeria”, what she didn’t know (and will learn in Pieces 2) of other alters lurking in the background.  We know that “Marvy” is the sexy, sexual aggressive alter, and “Valeria” is the kick ass, holds no punches and will take you down, alter.

So let’s get back to Pieces 2, I kept wondering when one of Trista’s alters, specifically “Marvy” would come out whenever Bryson was around.  As I mentioned earlier, I was not sure of Bryson and I didn’t want to have feelings for him, but damn it, he pulled at my heart strings, over and over.

Bryson does figure out Trista’s secret, and boy, does he discover one more alter, I want to call her the alpha alter, Mercy.  Let’s just say Chapter 4 was pretty brutal and I started hating Bryson again for a minute. Pieces 2, had a lot more suspense and adventure, I thought I was watching Kill Bill for a minute.

Trista has come to some sought of epiphany regarding her alters, but she does not necessarily want them to take over her life, but rather help her when needed.  There were points in the book that I was gripping my Ipad.  I knew things were going to take a turn and boy did it ever towards the end.  My heart was racing, I know I was crying at one point and boom, the author ends it with another cliffhanger.  I thought I would lose my mind at that point.  I will say this about the author, she will not keep us waiting for the last installment that’s for sure.  Pieces 1 came out in mid June and now Pieces 2 will be here in September, so not bad.  In other words, do not let it deter you from not reading Pieces 2, Pieces 3 will be right around the corner.

Book 2 for me, the best one so far.  I am curious to know how the author will outdo herself with Pieces 3.  I am literally on edge trying to figure out the missing pieces and questions at the end of Pieces 2.  I just hope I don’t need copious amounts of wine after Pieces 3.

– Michelle

*An ARC was received for an honest review.

P2 - TeasersP2 - taken down by gravityP2 - circular prisonP2 - BrysonP2 - Author BioSVC Ricketts Logo Finals

SVC Ricketts is an indie Contemporary Romance author and professional smart alec (self-professed). Her work has been recognized by the Pacific Northwest Writers Association and was selected as a finalist for the

2013 PNWA Literary Competition in the Romance category. She self-published her first book, a LGTB Romance novella called My Last Season With You in October of 2014. Then in June 2015, indie published Pieces of One, Part 1, the first book in The Dark Life Collection.

Raised between Southern California and Oahu, she moved to the Pacific Northwest in 1993 and although she loves it here, her heart belongs to the Islands-it always will. When she’s not in, what she loving calls “book-mode,” she multitasks her life between her hilarious adult special needs daughter, super smexy husband of 10+ years, two dogs, and sweating out her stress in a hot yoga studio. She’s also an avid Twitter (@SVC_Ricketts) and Facebook (SVC Ricketts) addict (again, self-professed). If you want to check out her other ramblings, you can visit her at - Stalk Here

Website | Facebook | Twitter | TSU | Amazon | GoodreadsP2 - Hosted ByNEW CLP BannerSBB Promotions Banner

All images © 2015 Concierge Literary Promotions. All rights reserved.

ShareShare on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail this to someone
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :