Book Review: Major Misconduct by Kelly Jamieson

1g

Title: Major Misconduct (Aces Hockey #1)
Author: Kellie Jamieson @KellyJamieson
Genre: Sports Romance
Length: 220 pages
Rating: 3.5 stars

Synopsis

In Kelly Jamieson’s seductive new Chicago Aces romance—perfect for readers of Sawyer Bennett and Toni Aleo—a fun-loving free spirit tempts an uptight hockey star into opening himself up to love.

As the captain of the Chicago Aces, Marc Dupuis is all business. The apartment he shares with his teammate and best friend, Duncan, is a refuge from the pressures of fame. But when the sexiest woman he’s ever seen interrupts his early morning coffee wearing only a skimpy cami and matching panties, Marc can’t exactly say he minds. Their chemistry is off the charts. Unfortunately, this girl’s no random puck bunny. She’s Duncan’s little sister—and she’s moving in.

Lovey Armstrong could stare at Marc’s chiseled abs and listen to his French-Canadian accent all day. She just has no idea what’s going on inside his head: When he’s not charming her pants off, Marc makes a Zamboni machine seem warm and cuddly. Lovey knows the team’s bro code says no messing with sisters, but all these mixed messages are hard on a girl’s self-esteem—especially since she’s finally getting her new life together in Chicago. She decides he’s worth another shot . . . because if anyone can melt the ice around Marc’s heart, it’s Lovey.

Ivy

description

Hockey rules: I love it, and I especially love when it mixes with my romance. When I saw the chance to start up with a new hockey romance series, I couldn’t resist. I’ve never read anything by Ms. Jamieson, but I enjoyed the fun little ‘verse she’s created – that it’s populated with a bunch of hot hockey guys, not a hardship.

The premise is pretty straightforward: Stuffed shirt meets special snowflake (emphasis on flake) and sparks fly. The stuffed shirt is Marc Dupuis, the captain of The Chicago Aces, a premiere NHL team that’s currently struggling after much success. Marc is known as Captain Codger because he’s so serious and focused. He broke up with his last live-in girlfriend who told him he wasn’t romantic enough so he’s batting a thousand (sorry, had to mix my sports analogies).

Anyway, he’s rooming with his teammate Duncan “Army” Armstrong when Duncan’s sister Lovey, aka our special snowflake, decides to crash with them while she sorts her life out. She’s also just gotten out of a serious relationship because her ex wanted to settle down and pop out babies, something she was NOT ready for. The attraction is there, but Duncan has made it more than clear that he doesn’t want anyone touching his baby sis, even stand-up guy Marc. Of course, Lovey isn’t taking that, especially with tasty Marc. She’s determined to have a no-strings affair, and what Lovey wants, Lovey gets.

Live, Laugh, Love: That is Lovey’s motto and it’s her blessing and curse. She’s the kind of girl who can draw anyone into her circle. She’s bubbly and happy and tries not to let anything get her down. Even when obstacles come her way, she doesn’t let them get her down for long. This could lead to her being a Mary Sue, but she’s not perfect and she has selfish moments. ,She’s not as flighty as her family thinks she is, but she does need to grow up some. While I got a bit frustrated with her towards the end, she pulled her head out of her butt and figured out what was important.

Marc reminds me of someone…: When the hockey team is in Chicago, and the team captain is adorable, serious, hot and does alot of charity work, yes my mind went straight to Jonathan Toews. This was not a bad thing. Marc’s a bit too serious, and he’s a bit harsh at first in rejecting Lovey, but I always enjoy seeing a hero who can’t fight his attraction and steps up when the time is right. Also, the accent didn’t hurt. Not at all.

Sweet and slightly dirty: The sex, when it happens, is just dirty enough to be fun. Marc and Lovey running around, hiding their feelings (and their groping) helps to kick things up a notch.

First in series with good potential: I think overall, it’s a good start for this hockey series, even if I would have liked a little more bite. It was pretty fluffy and light, and it needed a little more depth to make that emotional connection between Marc and Lovey stand out.

description

I liked this sweet, light hockey romance. I’m interested in seeing what’s up next for the Aces.

– Ivy

*An ARC was received from the publisher via NetGalley for an honest review.

Amazon

Goodreads

ShareShare on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail this to someone
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com