Book Review: The Forgotten Mountain by Heather Lyons

FM cover
Title: The Forgotten Society (Collector’s Society #3)
Author: @_heatherlyons
Reviewer: Grace
Genre: Fantasy, Fairy Tale, Romance
Length: 321 pages
Rating: 4.5 Stars


After years spent in Wonderland, Alice Reeve learned the impossible was quite possible after all. She thought she left such fantastical realities behind when she finally returned to England.

Now Alice has become a member of the clandestine Collectors’ Society, and the impossible has found her again in the form of an elusive villain set on erasing entire worlds. As she and the rest of the Society race to bring this mysterious murderer to justice, the fight becomes painfully personal.

Lives are being lost. Loved ones are shattered or irrevocably altered. Each step closer Alice gets to the shadowy man she hunts, the more secrets she unravels, only to reveal chilling truths. If she wants to win this war and save millions of lives, Alice must once more embrace the impossible and make the unimaginable, imaginable.

Sometimes, the rabbit hole leads to terrifying places.

Grace Review

Warning: To avoid spoilers, do not read this review unless you’ve read book 2, the Hidden Library.

The one good thing about binge on a series that is already completed, is you don’t have to deal with the reader withdrawal/angst following a cliffhanger.  You just start the next book.  And that’s exactly what I did at the end of book two.

To recap, 3 huge things happened:
Finn was stabbed with a glowing sword.
The catalyst for the story Finn and Victor were in, was destroyed.
Finn and Victor enter Sara’s book world.

The key is that we the readers know the last part.  Alice does not.  So the majority of this book is in her POV.  We are left wondering, did he die?  Will Alice ever see Finn again?

Those questions will be answered, but the biggest surprise for me in this book was how much I’ve grown to love Alice.  She truly kicks ass in this book!!  Sure, she showed potential in the other books, but here, it was undeniable.

I do not play by his rules.  I play by mine and mine alone.

She is desperate to reunite with Finn and truly seems to take charge among the Society members.  Throughout this book, these qualities shine through:
Finn is her binary and she’s not letting him go without a fight.  And without giving anything away, she uses all of the skills above to make things right.

And although the man I love is here with me, his skin beneath my hands, his head in my lap, I miss him so fiercely I feel like howling into the heavens.

The other big surprise for me in this book was that for the first time EVER, I actually liked a spider.  Yes, I suffer from Arachnophobia.  However, Grymsdyke won me over.  Not only is he protective of Alice and her friends, but he has a sense of humor that lightened the intense storyline.

I incline my head.  “We would be much appreciative of your protection.”
The spider drops to the table and kneels before me.

Just like rest of this series, this installment takes us within books we know well, with this book focusing on the Grimm fairy tales.  If you know them well, you know they are a bit dark and don’t always have happy endings.  So that made me edgy.  What I loved in this book was how cleverly the author tied in these tale with the main villain.  Things started to make more sense, and while I always suspected the Society members had one hell of a fight against them, I was impressed with how they started to figure things out.  What they didn’t have was a clear plan to stop the madness?

“We are in a fairy tale, and sometimes, in fairy tales, you must have faith that magic will hold strong.”

It takes some time for the title of the book to actually come to light, but when it did, that’s when I really started to get nervous.  Then Alice ends up in a place I never expected.  My first thought: WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON?!?!  And then: NOOOOOOOOO!!!  Ok, so it’s not the worse place to be, it just wasn’t the right place to be.  Now I’m distraught, and that’s where the story ends.  SON OF A . . . . !  If I didn’t have the ARC for book 4, I would have gone into full stalker mode on this author.  Instead, it’s time to get some answers and read the finale to this amazing series.

– Grace

Book 1, The Collector’s Society: Amazon USAmazon UK
Book 2, The Hidden Library: Amazon USAmazon UK
Book 3, The Forgotten Mountain: Amazon USAmazon UK
Book 4, The Lost Codex: Amazon USAmazon UK


ShareShare on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail this to someone
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :