Book Review: Shameless by Teresa Mummert

Title: Shameless
Author: @TeresaMummert
Reviewer: Yaya @MrsJCintron
Genre: New Adult
Length: 423 pages
Rating: 3.5 Stars


Every student at Shame U has their secrets, and Henley Brooks is no exception. Struggling to pay for college and maintain her perfect reputation has become overwhelming. When her friend Gigi Oxford offers her a night of carefree fun, she can’t pass up the opportunity to unwind.

After a night of drinking turns to chaos, Henley finds herself alone with Lucas Young, a student from London who has come to America to unravel a few secrets of his own, as well as break a few hearts.

Covered in tattoos and drowning in liquor, Lucas was everything Henley should avoid but couldn’t resist. She soon begins to fall for him like the many women before her. But after stumbling across something he didn’t want her to see, she learns that Lucas may not be who she thinks he is.

Henley and Gigi devise a plan to teach Lucas a lesson, but it isn’t long before Henley learns that no one at Shamus Thornton College can be trusted.

When everything begins to feel like it is falling apart, there is only one person Henley wants to pick up the pieces, even if he is the person who caused her to crumble.

Stories based in college settings always have some major drama. This one took it to a level where one minute I was starting to enjoy it (love drama), but then it had me wanting to call Maury.

Henley is that college girl who thinks no one notices her. Doesn’t like to party, plays violin, with a past no one knows about. Not even the crazy BFF Gigi. Until the one day she’s in the elevator with a tatted young man, who also has an accent to die for, who basically crashes the day for her. Later on her BFF manipulates her into going out for drinks and that’s when everything starts to change for her.

“You ruin everything you touch.”

Lucas…the Bad Boy of Shame U. Known to be a player. Drinking and girls are his thing. He has his own secrets and came to America to find some answers. Best part, he’s a tattoo artist. So swoonful. Ok besides the part he’s a little whorish, but you know the saying: “Don’t judge a book by its cover.”

“If all this world is a lie, let me live in its deception lying against you.”

The drama… *drum roll*

Lucas slept with his BFF Beef’s girlfriend, but he didn’t know that was his girlfriend at the time. She still wants Lucas. Lucas lied about sleeping with some girl named Addy, who also has a boyfriend who may be sleeping with Lucas’ roommate. One drunken night Gigi almost slept with Lucas but he didn’t remember her. Beef is now sleeping with Gigi. Henley and Lucas aren’t sleeping together, well no sexy times, but they do sleep together as friends. Until Rhys shows up. The boy from Henley’s past. Let’s talk about sharing is caring with this group. The bottom line is they are all playing one big game of Lies & Deception and at the end someone will get hurt. See, major drama. My brain still hurts.

“You were the truth I was searching for. I just didn’t know it then. I’m sorry it took me so long.”

What I couldn’t get over was where the stories led to. Henley had a past which Rhys was involved in. Something happened one night and it’s just forgotten like that? Lucas came to America to get some answers, but life happened and he never got them. So then what? Gigi and Beef, then what? Addy, Seth and Cody, then what? What happened to Henley’s Mom? Why didn’t Henley ever play the violin and Lucas watched? Seems like the stories kept going on in loops and never really unraveled. I never felt a connection with any of the characters. Henley and Lucas drove me bonkers with their back and forth and undecidedness, but their moments together when they would finally open up to each other were my favorites.

So if you like a lot of angst and as I mentioned a lot of drama, this is the book for you.

Happy Readings!

– Yaya

*An ARC was received for an honest review.

Amazon USAmazon UKiTunes




*DEAL: If the paperback is purchased from Amazon, you can download the kindle ebook for only $1.99!
*GIVEAWAY:  I am giving away a paperback copy of Sweet Nothing (signed by me) to readers who share the pinned post on my facebook page. It is open internationally to bloggers/readers/author, etc. (Post to share –> ) Contest ends: 1/16

Teresa Mummert grew up in a small town in Pennsylvania where she began dating her husband when they were only sixteen years old. They married at eighteen and soon moved to Louisiana as her husband began his military career. They are the proud parents of four children that they are raising in Georgia. Teresa began writing when her husband deployed to Afghanistan as a way to cope with him being away at war.

Her work includes the word of mouth bestselling White Trash Trilogy, which landed her a significant three book publishing deal with Simon & Schuster after it hit the New York Times and USA Today bestseller lists. She has also written the New York Times and USA Today bestselling novel The Note and the USA Today bestselling novel Safe Word. Other novels include Perfect Lie, Pretty Little Things, the Honor Series,Rellik, The Good Girls, Something Wicked, Crave, The Death of Lila Jane, Hollow (Hollow Point #1), Bleed Ink (Indie Author Guide), Shameless (Shame on You Series), and the USA Today bestselling novel Sweet Nothing co-written with Jamie McGuire.

Future releases include Hellion (Hollow Point #2), Defending Her Honor (Honor Series), Cruel, Depravity, When the Memories Fade, Weeping Willow, Paper Doll, The Deep, Before the Devil Knows You’re Dead, Rocked, Before I Wake, Fall to Pieces, Ash& Dust, and Victim. She also has a Middle-Grade children’s novel coming out soon titled The Seeker under the pseudonym T.S. Mummert.

ShareShare on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail this to someone
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :