Audio Review: Broken by Karin Slaughter

Title: Broken (Will Trent #4)
Author: Karin Slaughter @SlaughterKarin
Narrator: Natalie Ross
Reviewer: Grace
Genre: Suspense, Thriller
Length: 13 hours and 23 mins, 398 pages
Rating: 4.5 Stars


When Special Agent Will Trent arrives in Grant County, he finds a police department determined to protect its own and far too many unanswered questions about a prisoner’s death. He doesn’t understand why Officer Lena Adams is hiding secrets from him. He doesn’t understand her role in the death of Grant County’s popular police chief. He doesn’t understand why that man’s widow, Dr. Sara Linton, needs him now more than ever to help her crack this case.

While the police force investigates the murder of a young woman pulled from a frigid lake, Trent investigates the police force, putting pressure on Adams just when she’s already about to crack. Caught between two complicated and determined women, trying to understand Linton’s passionate distrust of Adams, the facts surrounding Chief Tolliver’s death, and the complexities of this insular town, Trent will unleash a case filled with explosive secrets–and encounter a thin blue line that could be murderous if crossed.
Grace Review

Story: 4.5 stars
This story was an interesting departure from the series. Yes, it still features my beloved and misunderstood protagonist, Will Trent. Yes, there is still a crime to be solved. But this book departs the city of Atlanta, for the smaller confines of Grant County. (Note: If you are not a big fan of this author’s work already, then it is worth noting that this book overlaps with her Grant County series).

Joining Will on the search for truth is Sara, who was previously introduced in Undone, book 3 of this series. After returning home for the Thanksgiving holiday, she is brought in to the local police station for assistance with an inmate and discovers a lot of suspicious activity. Cue Will, the man with all of the answers.

As we learned about in Undone, Sara has a lot of hatred for one of the Grant Country police force members, Lena Adams. A woman she blames for her own husband’s death. So Sara, as she is known to do, oversteps her bounds as a means of revenge. And while her regret in doing so is almost immediate, it turns out she is justified in her concerns.

To put it bluntly, the Grant County police force is corrupt.
Hiding evidence.
Delaying evidence.
Falsifying testimony.
Lena is all too aware of this corruption in her force and wants out. But on the day of investigating a murder, she makes a serious of mistakes that cost lives and set a new direction for the investigation.

What I love about this series and Will Trent, is the author basically gives very little evidence to provide direction in the hunt for the killer(s). Will’s methodical ways of reading a scene and uncovering what little evidence there is available, makes him an easy character to admire, despite his quirks. On top of that fact, is that with so little evidence available, I find it nearly impossible to guess who the killer is, until the author is ready for me to know. When it is just about too late for their next victim!! Yes, this is why I love this series so much. Nothing I love more as a mystery reader than to be shocked.

Aside from solving the series of killings in the county, Will and Sara learn more about one another. The big reveal being Sara discovering Will’s dyslexia. I thought she handled it well and was very kind, but for a man like Will to be exposed, his vulnerability was evident. There is an obvious connection between them, yet sadly (SPOILER), no progress in their relationship. For the life of me, I can’t understand why Will isn’t more forthcoming about his relationship, or should I say, lack of a relationship, with Angie. I don’t know if the author will ever explore anything further between Will and Sara, but I still have my fingers crossed.

Performance: 5 stars
Once again, this narrator nailed this performance. I wish she did all of the Will Trent books.

She is so great with Southern accents, various dialects for both the male and female characters, I always feel like she brings the story to life. In addition, she packs layers of emotion into each voice that it is easy to become invested.

Overall: 4.5 stars
Four books in and this story is as intriguing as ever. You’d think by now we have uncovered all of the layers to Will and his team, yet there continue to be new surprises with each book in the series.

Another great book for crime lovers to sink their teeth into.

– Grace

Book 1, Triptych: Amazon USAmazon UKAudible
Book 2, Fractured: Amazon USAmazon UKAudible
Book 3, Undone: Amazon USAmazon UKAudible
Book 4, Broken: Amazon USAmazon UKAudible

ShareShare on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail this to someone
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :