Book Review: Small Town Scandal by Daisy Prescott

Title: Small Town Scandal (Wingmen #5))
Author: @Daisy_Prescott
Reviewer: Grace
Genre: Romantic Comedy
Rating: 4 stars


Another wingmen meets his match and this time it’s scandalous.

Carter Kelso is a man with a plan. And goats.
Ashley Kingston is a woman with a reputation.
Can he earn back her love before their past catches up with them and destroys everything?

On the island, my last name is synonymous with scandal. With a notorious father and a famous brother, I’ve been on the sidelines of our small town’s gossip circle for years. Nothing to see here. Just a man and his goats, happily going through life. Not a care in the world. Too bad it’s all lies.

I’m tired of trying not to be in love with Ashley Kingston, our very own island jezebel. Some people think she’s a slut. They think they know her. They’re wrong. Screw them.

Reputations can be deceiving. I should know.

Small Town Scandal is a second chance romance standalone novel and the fifth book in the Wingmen series. You do not have to read the other novels first.
Grace Review

If you’ve read Confessions of a Reformed Tom Cat, book 2 in this series, then you may remember Ashley Kingston. Specifically, the meat incident. If you didn’t read that book, no worries, just know that she played the role as the crazy ex.

Going into this book, I had to wonder if she deserved a HEA. I mean, she’s the villain, right?

It wasn’t long into this book that my opinions on Ashley changed. Tom has become a distant memory, and as things are revealed, you come to realize that there is no lost love there. Because there is another man who has always owned her heart. That being Carter Kelso, aka Goat Boy.

” . . . soon I’m going to make you mine. And this time, I’ll never let you go.”

Despite their history, or maybe because of that history, Ashley and Carter haven’t gotten along for some time. Initially, the bicker endlessly about meaningless things. To note: this isn’t annoying to read, it’s handled in a more playful, who-can-insult-the-other-more, type deal. But what’s interesting, and what ultimately brings them back on the same page, is Ashley’s degrading view of herself. Raised with ultra-strict parents, in a small town where everyone knows everyone’s business, Ashley quickly gained the reputation as a slut. Whether that title is earned or not, she seems to embrace it, and when Carter’s persistence to get back into her life wears her down, she has no shame in pushing for sex.

“But I own who I am. If I feel shame, it’s for my own messes, not who I am.

This story gives us some of the backstory, in what drove them apart as teenagers. I’m not sure why Carter suddenly gets the epiphany to pursue her again, but he goes to great lengths to win back her heart. And despite the temptation, holds back Ashley’s sexual advances as best he can. Until he can’t.

Like the rest of the books in this series, this story is light on the angst and more on the sweet side of romance. If you’ve read other books from the author, a number of characters make reappearances, and it was fun to see how their own personal relationships have progressed, and how they’ve matured enough to provide good advice to the second chance couple. In addition, this book gives some closure to the drama between Ashley and Tom.

So if you are looking for a fun read, with guy chasing the girl of his dreams, along with a whole bunch of goats, look no further.

– Grace

*An ARC was received for an honest review.

Book 1, Ready to Fall: Amazon USAmazon UK
Book 2, Confessions of a Reformed Tom Cat: Amazon USAmazon UK
Book 3, Anything but Love: Amazon USAmazon UK
Book 4, Better Love: Amazon USAmazon UK
Book 5, Small Town Scandal:
Amazon US:
Amazon UK:

ShareShare on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail this to someone
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :