Audio Review: Unseen by Karin Slaughter

Title: Unseen (Will Trent #7)
Author: Karin Slaughter @SlaughterKarin
Narrator: Kathleen Early
Reviewer: Grace
Genre: Suspense, Thriller
Length: 13 hours and 12 mins, 379 pages
Rating: 5 Stars


Karin Slaughter’s novels featuring detective Will Trent are utterly riveting and masterfully drawn. Her latest thriller, Unseen, pits detectives, lovers, and enemies against one another in an unforgettable standoff between righteous courage and deepest evil.

Will Trent is a Georgia Bureau of Investigation agent whose latest case has him posing as Bill Black, a scary ex-con who rides a motorcycle around Macon, Georgia, and trails an air of violence wherever he goes. The cover has worked and he has caught the eye of a wiry little drug dealer who thinks he might be a useful ally. But undercover and cut off from the support of the woman he loves, Sara Linton, Will finds his demons catching up with him.

Although she has no idea where Will has gone, or why, Sara herself has come to Macon because of a cop shooting: Her stepson, Jared, has been gunned down in his own home. Sara holds Lena, Jared’s wife, responsible: Lena, a detective, has been a magnet for trouble all her life, and Jared’s shooting is not the first time someone Sara loved got caught in the crossfire. Furious, Sara finds herself involved in the same case that Will is working without even knowing it, and soon danger is swirling around both of them.

In a novel of fierce intensity, shifting allegiances, and shocking twists, two investigations collide with a conspiracy straddling both sides of the law. Karin Slaughter’s latest is both an electrifying thriller and a piercing study of human nature: what happens when good people face the unseen evils in their lives.
Grace Review

Story: 5 stars
If they had a dictionary in the fictional book world, under the definition of “trouble”, you’d likely find a picture of Lena Adams. When I saw that this book featured her in the storyline, my first thought was, “oh shit, what did she do now?”

If you are familiar with this series, then you’ll recall that on more than one occasion, Lena’s actions have put others in harm’s way. When that harm hits on a personal level, the assumption would be that it was due to her actions that caused the violent altercation. But is that accurate? This story delves into what proceeded that fateful night and everything that went down following it.

What I liked most about this story was how the parts from the past are told in reverse. First, we hear about the raid and where things went wrong. What was even more fascinating was everything that led up to it. There are signs that the police should have noticed, and some signs one wouldn’t know until it was too late. The revelations from the past were definitely some of the most shocking moments, not because they were disturbing, but because it showed how clearly they later fucked up.

If you’ve read my other reviews for this series, you know I have a great love for this namesake of this series, Will Trent. And I had one thought throughout this book – poor Will. I mean really, this guy’s life is threatened more than once. On a very violent level. For the first time in this series, the reader is exposed to Will’s old body scars, and sadly, this story leaves him with a slew of new ones. Then, as if fearing death more than once in a week isn’t bad enough, during the safer times, the poor guy feared the end of his story with Sara. Always breaking my heart, this guy.

What amazed me about this book and is common in many of the other books from this author, is that there is so much detail and information, that your mind is preoccupied, digesting it all. While you’re doing that . . . *WHAM!*, the author hits you with one shocking revelation after another. I literally screamed, “WHAT?!?!” when Big Whitey’s identity is revealed. And what was interesting about the revelation is what we previously learn from one theory (trying to keep things vague).

There’s a lot going on in this book and I was surprised by the ultimate direction it took, with Big Whitey’s secrets. Will’s incredible skills as a detective come to play in solving the mystery and catching the bad guys, but a lot of what is uncovered is by dumb luck. Being in the right place at the right time, with someone willing to talk. And Will gets to be the hero, once again. Given what he went thru on this case, it is well deserved.

Performance: 4.5 stars
This narrator has been used for several audios in this series, and she is well suited for it. She does a great job of capturing the emotions of each scene and creating distinct voices for the characters, which is always a plus for me.

Through the author’s words and the narrator’s voice, I can visualize each scene, making it an enjoyable audio experience.

Overall: 5 stars
This is a series I never want to end. There is no formula. There is nothing predictable. Just page after page of good detective work under intense conditions. If you love detective thrillers, this is another must!

– Grace

Book 1, Triptych: Amazon USAmazon UKAudible
Book 2, Fractured: Amazon USAmazon UKAudible
Book 3, Undone: Amazon USAmazon UKAudible
Book 4, Broken: Amazon USAmazon UKAudible
Book 5, Fallen: Amazon USAmazon UKAudible
Book 6, Criminal: Amazon USAmazon UKAudible
Book 7, Unseen: Amazon USAmazon UKAudible

ShareShare on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail this to someone

Speak Your Mind


Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :